Skip to main content

MLA Style Guide: Citations & Bibliography

When Writing Your Bibliography...

Some Helpful Tips:

  • Use Works Cited as your header at the top of your page.
  • All references are double-spaced.
  • Set the margins of your document to 1 inch on all sides.  Use Times New Roman Font 12.
  • Indent all lines after the first line,by using a hanging indent. (Ctrl+T in MS Word.)
  • Months are abbreviated except for May, June and July.
  • Names of journal, magazines newspaper, databases and books are in italics.

In-Text Citations

An in-text citation follows a quotation or paraphrase used in the text of your paper and directs the reader to the complete citation in the works-cited page.  It usually includes the author’s last name and a page number.  The page number goes in a parenthesis (15) and a parenthetical citation that directly follows a quotation is placed after the closing quotation mark.  The other item (usually the author’s last name) may appear in the text itself or before the page number in the parenthesis (Rozakis 15).

For more detailed information and examples, consult:

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of sources formatted in the manner of a bibliography, but contains a short paragraph after each entry. The paragraph provides a brief summary of the article, and it's relevancy to the main subject. 

When creating a annotated bibilography, consult with your professor about any questions you have. Assignment requirements may vary according to the subject and professor.

Our MLA Handout

Loading ...