Skip to main content

A World of Resources: Specialized Books

SELECTED LIST OF GENERAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS

SELECTED LIST OF GENERAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS:

 World Book Encyclopedia, 2009 - located in Norco College Reference(AE5 .W55 2009)
 

Health

Humanities (Literature, History, Religion, Philosophy, Art, Music)

The Oxford Companion to English Literature. New York : Oxford University Press, 2000 (Riverside Ref PR19 .D73 2000. The 1985 edition is available at Riverside Ref., Norco Ref & Moreno Valley Ref: PR19 .D73 1985 )
 Dictionary of the Middle Ages. New York : Scribner, 1982-1989. (Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref D114 .D5 1982)
 The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London: Routledge, 1998. (Riverside Ref & Norco Ref B51 .R68 1998)
 The Encyclopedia of Religion. New York: Macmillan, 1986. (Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref BL31 .E46 1986)
 Dictionary of the History of Ideas. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1973-1974. (Riverside Ref CB 5 D52)
 Man Myth and Magic ... New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1995. (Riverside & Moreno Valley Ref BF 1407 .M34 1995)
 Encyclopedia of American Religions. 6th ed. Detroit : Gale Research, 1999. (Norco Ref. & Moreno Valley Ref BL2525 .M449 1999)
 Dictionary of American History. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1976-1978. (Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref E 174 D52 1976)
 Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. New York: Macmillan Library Reference USA, 1996. (Riverside & Moreno Valley Ref E185 E54 1996)
 Encyclopedia of World Art. New York, McGraw-Hill, 1959-1987. (Riverside Ref N31 .E533)
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Washington, D.C. : Grove's Dictionaries of Music (2001 ed. - Riverside Ref ML100 .N48 2001; 1980 ed. - Norco & Moreno Valley Ref ML100 .N48 1980) The online version is available through our LAMP system - See it listed on our Electronic Resources Page.

Science (Biology, Technology, Environment)

Social Sciences (Psychology, Political Science, Law, Sociology, Education)

 Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family. New York: Macmillan, c1995. (Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref HQ9 .E52 1995)
 The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union. New York : Cambridge University Press,1994. (Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref DK14 .C35 1994)
 Encyclopedia of the Third World. New York: Facts on File, 1982- (Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref HC59.7 .K87 1992)
 Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1991-1993. (Norco & Moreno Valley Ref GN550 .E53 1991)
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind. (1989 ed - Norco & Moreno Valley Ref GN307 .I44 1989)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research (2001 ed - Norco Ref G63 .W67 2001; 1988 ed. - Moreno Valley Ref G63 .W67 1998)
The New Palgrave: a Dictionary of Economics. London: Macmillan, 1987. (Riverside Ref HB61 .N49)
 The New Palgrave: a Dictionary of Economics and the Law. London: Macmillan (1998 ed. - Riverside Ref K487 .E3N48 1998
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. New York: Macmillan, 1968-1991. (Norco & Moreno Valley Ref H 40 .I5)
 The Social Science Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. London: Routledge, 1996. (Moreno Valley Ref H41 .S63 1996) and also 1985 edition in Riverside Ref, Norco Main Stacks & Moreno Valley Main Stacks
 Encyclopedia of Social Work. Washington, D. C.: National Association of Social Workers, 1995. (Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref HV35 .S6 - AND - Ref HV35 .S6 1997 suppl.)
 Encyclopedia of American Social History. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1993. (Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref HN57 E58 1993)
 Encyclopedia of Sociology. New York: Macmillan, 2000. (Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref HM 425 E5 2000)
 Encyclopedia of Democracy. Washington, D. C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1995 (Riverside & Moreno Valley Ref JC423 .E53 1995)
 Encyclopedia of the American Presidency. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1994. (Riverside Ref JK511 .E53 1994)
 The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1995- (Riverside Ref JK 1067 E63 1995)
 Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. New York: Macmillan, 2000 (Moreno Valley Ref. KF4548 E53 2000. The 1986 edition is available at Riverside, Norco & Moreno Valley Ref KF 4548 E53 1986