Skip to main content

EBSCO Databases Help: Get Started

Help with using Academic Search Complete, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and all of our EBSCOhost Databases.
 

What is EBSCOhost?

EBSCOhost (also known as EBSCO) is a company that runs and operates a variety of Databases (...like a record label, publisher, or television channel) that runs and operates many databases like Academic Search Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, and many more.

Norco College Library pays for a subscription to some of these databases. Some are fairly general, while others are subject specific, such as nursing, communications, history, and literature.

you'll need to log in to access all of what's available to you.


Using Advanced Search

  • In EBSCOhost databases, we recommend you search one database at a time. That way, you'll be able to search for information in manageable chunks.
  • If your number of results are too high, try limiting your choices in the left hand column. Start by year first, then try other options, such as subject, geographic area, and language. note that sometimes these will limit your choices too much, and you can eliminate those options and try again.

Important:

When you use any database from EBSCO, be sure to check the "Full Text" button, and if your professor asks for a "Scholarly" "Peer Reviewed" or "Academic" Journal, check the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box, like below:

Other Important Tips:

Less is more, try to get less than 60 results per search.

Use the "refine results" in the left hand column to narrow down your results.

Use a variety of words or phrases to describe what you're looking for, but keep it simple, and don't be afraid to do multiple searches.

Find a few articles that work, and look for new words/phrases to describe what you're looking for, and search again using those new phrases or words.

Gather citations as you go. All of our databases have a cite feature somewhere on the page of each item. If you think you might use an article or some other bit of information, save the citation in either word or Google Docs for later use!

Still having problems? Ask us for help!

More Help