Military & Veterans Resources: Web Resources

24/7, confidential crisis support for Veterans and their loved ones. Call 1-800-273-8255 (Press 1), chat, or text 838255.

Explains how to find mental health care and various settings where care is offered. Additional information on types of treatments as well as programs for special Veteran populations.

From the homepage:
Military Health System Centers of Excellence were established to provide the Department of Defense with the ability to speed the advancement of our scientific knowledge and evidence-based practices for diagnosis and treatment of diseases and conditions that impact our military personnel and their families with the help of a “critical mass” of experts.
Contains links to the Psychological Health Center of Excellence, Traumatic Brain Injury of Center of Excellence, Extremity Trauma and Amputation Center of Excellence, and more.

My HealtheVet helps veterans manage their healthcare needs. It contains links to pharmacy, appointments, health records, health benefits, and health services, among other resources.

From the Military Health System's Real Warriors Campaign homepage:
The Real Warriors Campaign promotes a culture of support for psychological health by encouraging the military community to reach out for help whether coping with the daily stresses of military life, or concerns like depression, anxiety and posttraumatic stress disorder.
Contains links to articles on multiple aspects of mental health as well as links to the MHS's Centers of Excellence. Tabs include training, policies, a reference center, and more.

Formerly known as the National Center for Veterans Studies.
From the STRIVE homepage:
The Suicide and Trauma Reduction Initiative for Veterans (STRIVE) has established itself as one of the leading research sites for clinical trials on suicide treatment, prevention and intervention. Our nationally recognized treatment programs and workshops conduct research, education, outreach and advocacy for improving the lives of military personnel, veterans, first responders and their families.

Contains links to VA benefits and health care.

Locate state and local VA resources such as hospitals and clinics, medical centers, vet centers, and more.

From the Wounded Warrior Resource Center homepage:
Warriors and family members registering with Wounded Warrior Project® (WWP) often communicate with the Resource Center first. The team welcomes warriors and their families into WWP and serves as a connection point at every step along their individual journeys. As their needs evolve, the Resource Center continues to listen, identify next steps, and connect them with WWP programs as well as resources in their community.
Provides links to benefits and services as well as live assistance with registration or questions.

From CalVet's homepage:
CalVet is addressing veteran homelessness by working with various government and non-government agencies and organizations, throughout California, to provide advocacy and services needed by the homeless population and those dealing with the threat of becoming homeless. To find housing assistance programs available in the area, call (800) 952-5626 or (800) 221-8998 (outside California).
Provides links and information on supportive services, call centers, health care, and housing and supportive services.

With a mission to end homelessness among veterans, this site contains information on veteran homelessness, legislation and policy, housing development, assistance training, and other resource links for providers and veterans

From the homepage:
VA is committed to ending homelessness among Veterans. Our focus is threefold.
Conducting coordinated outreach to proactively seek out Veterans in need of assistance.
Connecting homeless and at-risk Veterans with housing solutions, health care, community employment services and other required supports.
Collaborating with federal, state and local agencies; employers; housing providers, faith-based and community nonprofits; and others to expand employment and affordable housing options for Veterans exiting homelessness.
Provides links to housing resources, health care, and employment, among other links.

From the homepage:
The California Association of County Veterans Service Officers (CACVSO) is an organization of professional veterans advocates. In California, The County Veterans Service Officer plays a critical role in the veteran’s advocacy system and is often the initial contact in the community for veterans services. Through the County Veterans Service Officer, the CACVSO is committed to California Counties to provide a vital and efficient system of services and advocacy to veterans, their dependents and survivors.
Contains links to location finder, legislative updates, and job postings, among other helpful links.

The state of California, via the CalVet Website, provides information on services and benefits for veterans and their families. Included are links to information on education, employment, healthcare, home loans, and more.

The committee recommends revisions to laws relating to veterans' benefits. The Committee also oversees, monitors, and evaluates VA operations.

IAVA is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization for Iraq and Afghanistan veterans. IAVA programs include links to research and data, advocacy, and pressing issues within the IAVA community, among others.

Access to news articles, press products, military branch news, feature stories, and links to live events.

This Website, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education provides information and resources on the types of financial aid available for service members and families. Links to government and veteran organization sponsored financial aid information are included.

The Education and Training Website, sponsored by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, provides information on applying to schools, videos on enrollment verification, how to submit questions, and links to other resources. Links on the left connect to information on Educational Training and other benefits.

From the homepage:
Student Veterans of America® is the premier organization leading service, research, programs, and advocacy for veterans in higher education.
The SVA Website contains links to news, programs and events, careers, research, and more.

From the homepage:
The Center for Women Veterans’ (CWV) mission is to monitor and coordinate VA’s administration of health care, benefits, services, and programs for women Veterans. We serve as an advocate for cultural transformation and to raise awareness of the responsibility to treat women Veterans with dignity and respect to #BringWomenVeteransHome2VA.
Contains links to health care and benefits specifically for women veterans as well as information on Military Sexual Trauma, legal assistance, and more.

As part of the Department of Defense's Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Office (SAPRO), Safe Helpline provides secure, confidential, and anonymous crisis support particularly for members of the Department of Defense community who are affected by sexual assault.
Contains access to:
24/7 One-On-One CHAT: https://chat-ohl4.safehelpline.org/tos/SHL
24/7 CALL: 877-995-5247
SafeHelpRoom Support Group Chat: https://safehelpline.org/safe-helproom

The Center for Minority Veterans serves as a gateway to other resources for minority veterans groups such as the Advisory Committee on Minority Veterans, African Americans/Black Veterans/Service Members,

This resource contains links and information on LGBT veterans' and service members' rights, benefits, and resources, among other VA related links.

Follow the links for information on Women Veterans health services and resources such as general health care, reproductive health, mental health, and military sexual trauma, among other services.

From the homepage:
CareerOneStop offers resources for transitioning service members, veterans, and military spouses.
Access their Veterans and Military Transition Center for information on matching military skills to careers, job searching, veteran benefits, and similar resources for military spouses.

From the homepage:
Hiring Our Heroes (HOH) connects the military community—service members, military spouses, and veterans—with American businesses to create economic opportunity and a strong and diversified workforce.
This Website, sponsored by the U. S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation, contains links to career services, employers, partners, and more.

From the homepage:
Joining Forces is a White House initiative to support military families, which includes: families of service members and veterans, caregivers and survivors. Our work is driven by their experiences.
There are links to resources such as Military OneSource, Entrepreneurship Tools, Military Spouse Employment, Military Child Care, and Caregiver Support, among other resources.

In partnership with Modelo, this Website contains information on education, employment, and resources that link veterans to solutions in their communities.

Syracuse University's D'Aniello Institute for Veterans and Military Families provides information on programs, research and analytics, entrepreneurship, community services, and more, supporting veterans and their families. The Research & Analytics Webpage provides statistical data for government, private industry, education, among others, in support of veterans and their families.

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, this Webpage contains information and links pertaining to the history of Veterans Day.

Provides Reports, Features, and Short Reads related to veteran and military service members.

Provides information on research, latest insights, policy experts, and more from a variety of information sources across a wide selection of disciplines.
From the RAND homepage:
The RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest.

Offers a brief history of Veterans Day and links to The Veterans History Project, related publications, and U.S. Government Information resources.

Contains information on research, technology, and training, with links to organization news and the Los Angeles Veterans Collaborative.
From the USC CIR homepage:
Through education and training, innovation, research and partnerships, CIR bridges the gap between military and civilian communities. The center guides behavioral health practitioners, develops new technologies, informs policymakers, builds community networks and produces research with real-world applications.