How to be a Poet by
How to be a Poet: A twenty-first century guide to writing well by Jo Bell and Jane Commane. With special guest essays from: Mona Arshi, Clive Birnie, Rishi Dastidar, Jonathan Davidson, Abi Palmer, Robert Peake and Joelle Taylor. How to be a Poet combines advice, ideas and encouragement from experienced poets and editors in topical chapters to examine both the technical and creative dimensions of being a poet. It's a no-nonsense manual where we've replaced the spanners with lots of ink, elbow grease and edits. At each step, we ask plenty of questions – what makes a poem tick over perfectly, how do we get it started when it stalls, and which warning lights should you never ignore? Aimed at both new and more established poets, there is plenty for everyone here.
Fireflies by
Fireflies is a book about how writing poetry can help us explore memory and identity, and it is also a book of poetry that explores memory and identity. This work is an example of the "liminal" scholarship advocated in The Need for Revision (2011, by the same author), occupying a space in the academic world's "windows and doorways," not exactly in any one field but rather in the "spaces-between where the inside and outside commingle"; it seeks to trouble the boundaries between teacher and writer, critic and artist, writer and reader, and teacher and student in a way from which all parties might benefit. Fireflies aims for a different kind of scholarship, and hopes to offer new ways for teachers to be professional and academic. The second section of the book is a full-length poetry text--the author's own exploration of the notions that people who teach writing should also be writers, and that poetry is more something you do than something you are. The book says we should write poems not because of some inborn gift for it, but because the act of writing poetry is good for us, and helps us understand ourselves better; it is a book written in the hopes that other books will be written. Maybe by you. "David Owen has taken his understanding of currere, the root of curriculum, to a new level with his demonstration of the value of reading and writing poetry. He argues that writing poetry develops an 'attitude of adventure' into everydayness. As his first chapter 'Songs of Ourselves'suggests, we all can be Whitman's if we take up our pens to celebrate what lives around us as well as in us. Owen demonstrates this theory with a calendar of poems he wrote that share small frozen moments of the seasons of a year. Connecting his memories with forays into night skies and fireflies and 'the fractals that God makes, ' David Owen's poetic images suggest that our deep connection with Earth can be recovered if we let a little more 'oak in the voice' of our words."--Mary Aswell Doll, author of The Mythopoetics of Currere
Inciting Poetics by
The essays in Inciting Poetics provide provocative answers to the book's opening question, "What are poetics now?" Authored by some of the most important contemporary poets and critics, the essays present new theoretical and practical approaches to poetry and poetics that address current topics and approaches in the field as well as provide fresh readings of a number of canonical poets. The four sections--"What is Poetics?," "Critical Interventions," "Cross-Cultural Imperatives," and "Digital, Capital, and Institutional Frames"--create a basis on which both experienced readers and newcomers can build an understanding of how to think and write about poetry. The diverse voices throughout the collection are both informative and accessible and offer a rich exploration of multiple approaches to thinking and writing about poetry today.
Writing about Literature by Find a variety of information on a wide range of literature. Full access for Norco College students, Faculty, and Staff using your college email. If you need help, check out the guides to the right, or ask us for one-on-one help.
Digital library of older peer-reviewed academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Author biographies, character studies, critical analyses, and plot summaries of the most studied literary works.
Unrivaled in terms of volume, authoritativeness, and currency, Gale Research Complete provides subscription access to the largest package of primary and secondary sources available to libraries today. Empowering users at all academic levels, from the undergraduate student to the experienced researcher, and covering nearly every research area and discipline, Gale Research Complete offers high-quality, authoritative, and unique content.
This resource contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
This database contains access to older eBook resources including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Search these multi-volume sets found in Gale Virtual Reference Library (see above). Click on the link, and log in using your email, then search for your topic in the SEARCH WITHIN SERIES box in the upper right hand of the page. Need more help? Ask us, and we'll be glad to assist!
Contemporary Poets
Contemporary Poets provides biographical and bibliographical information on 787 of the world's most important contemporary English-language poets, 120 new to this edition. Entries typically include personal and career information, addresses, a detailed bibliography, a list of further reading sources, a signed, critical essay and more.
Poetry for Students by
Each volume of PoetryforStudents provides analysis of approximately 15-16 poems that teachers and librarians have identified as the most frequently studied in literature courses. Some of the poems covered in this volume include: Business by Victor Hernandez Cruz Colibri| by Martin Espada |Reunions with a Ghost| by Ali |Southbound on the Freeway| by May Swenson |Ways to Live| by William Stafford And more You may also be interested in For Students Online - the complete For Students Collection in eBook format.Call your Sales Rep for details.|PIM|31-MAY-18|01
The Poetry Handbook by
The Poetry Handbook is a lucid and entertaining guide to the poet's craft, and an invaluable introduction to practical criticism for students. Chapters on each element of poetry, from metre to gender, offer a wide-ranging general account, and end by looking at two or three poems from a smallgroup (including works by Donne, Elizabeth Bishop, Geoffrey Hill, and Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott), to build up sustained analytical readings.Thorough and compact, with notes and quotations supplemented by detailed reference to the Norton Anthology of Poetry and a companion website with texts, links, and further discussion, The Poetry Handbook is indispensable for all school and undergraduate students of English. A final chapteraddresses examinations of all kinds, and sample essays by undergraduates are posted on the website. Critical and scholarly terms are italicised and clearly explained, both in the text and in a complete glossary; the volume also includes suggestions for further reading.The first edition, widely praised by teachers and students, showed how the pleasures of poetry are heightened by rigorous understanding and made that understanding readily available. This second edition -- revised, expanded, updated, and supported by a new companion website - confirm The PoetryHandbook as the best guide to poetry available in English.
Get help with any writing assignment for any subject, online or face-to-face. No appointment is necessary, and a College ID is required.
Call or visit to find out more:
Writing & Reading Center
Room 110, 1st Floor of the Library Building
(951) 372-7143
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
Search Our FAQ