Subject Guides: Kinesology & Nutrition: Books & Articles

Books & eBooks

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines and more, about a wide variety of subjects. This is a great place to start when looking for scholarly articles.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides information about the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. It provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more.
Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
This full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.

National Newspapers Expanded (US Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
Access local and regional newspapers including Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and more.
Newsbank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications from around the world.

eBook Collection (Complete) This link opens in a new window
This resource contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains access to older eBook resources including dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Less is more! Keep the searches down to fewer words.
Use a variety of words or phrases to describe what you're looking for, and don't be afraid to do multiple searches.
Find a few articles that work, and look for new words/phrases to describe what you're looking for (and write them down for later reference!!), and search again using those new phrases or words.
Watch out for the number of results in your searches, it’s important! Less is more -- try to get less than 60 results per search so you can look over your results over quickly. Note that the first page of results may not be the best picks for your topic, so look them all over!

If you need more help, you can chat with a Librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, email us, or make an appointment for a one on one consultation online or face to face in the library. You can also check out our Searching for Articles & Using Databases Guide below:

JSTOR Help
by Susan Seifried Last Updated May 9, 2023 87 views this year
EBSCO Databases Help
by Susan Seifried Last Updated Nov 3, 2023 64 views this year