Skip to main content

What We Have

Library Materials

Books

34,685 Print Books

134,000 Electronic Books

Periodicals

74 Print Periodicals

40 Electronic Databases

Reserve Textbooks

Shelf of textbooks
Textbooks on Reserve
  • 650+ reserve textbooks are available for student use
  • Reserve materials may be checked out for 2 hours
  • Reserve items must be used in the library
  • Only 1 reserve item can be used at a time 

 

 

Click on the link below to see if your textbook is available!

Books and Digital Collections

Books & eBooks
  • 34,685 print volumes are available for student use
  • 650+ reserve textbooks are available for student use
  • approximately 800,000 digital eBooks are available wherever the internet is available. 
Digital Collection
  • The library subscribes to 40 electronic databases, consisting of millions of magazines, newspapers, and scholarly articles, as well as access to videos.
Databases by Subject

Computers and Laptops

Computers
  • 70 PCs are available for student use
  • Login with your student ID
  • Community computers are also available for non-students

 

Laptops
  • 36 laptops are available for 2-hour use but must stay in the library
  • Your student ID card is required for checkout
  • HDMI to VGA adaptors are available
  • HDMI cables are available 
  • USB cables to connect with Starboards are available  
  • Printing is available

 

Software

All desktop and laptop computers are equipped with:

  • Adobe Acrobat DC
  • Adobe Creative
  • Arduino
  • Audacity
  • AutoCAD 2020
  • Autodesk inventor
  • Blender
  • Dia
  • Discord
  • Eclipse Java 2019-06
  • FileZilla
  • GitKraken
  • JASP 0.10.1.0
  • Jaws 18.0
  • Kurzweil 3000
  • Mastercam 2019
  • Maya 2019
  • MS Office
  • Node.js
  • NotePad++
  • Oracle VM VirtualBox
  • Python 3.7 (32-bit)
  • Qt Creator 4.9.2 (Community)
  • Revit 2020
  • Slack
  • SOLIDWORKS 2019
  • StarBoard Software
  • Storyboarder
  • Sublime Text 3
  • Unity 2019. 1.2
  • Unity Hub
  • Visual Studio 2017
  • Visual Studio Code
  • ZoomText 11

Borrowing Policies

View of the Circulation Desk counter of the Library

Borrowing Policies

 

Loan Periods:

General Collection - 21 Days

Magazines/Periodicals (Main Stacks) - 7 Days

Reserve Collection (Hourly) - LIBRARY USE ONLY

Reference Collection - LIBRARY USE ONLY

 

Checking Out Materials:

Your student ID card must be presented to borrow books, videos, magazines, or reserve materials.

Students can check out up to 20 books at the same time, but only ONE reserve textbook may be checked out at a time.

Community borrowers can check out up to 5 books at the same time, but they cannot check out reserve items.

Up to 3 magazines can be checked out at the same time.

Returning Books:

Reserve materials must be returned to the reserve desk at the appropriate college. Return circulating books to any of the 3 colleges.

Late Charges & Overdue Fines:

Daily checkouts - 20¢/day per item
Hourly checkouts - $1/hour per item

Holds will be placed on any student's record if s/he owes more than $25 and the student WILL NOT be able to check out library materials, register for classes, nor obtain transcripts.

Renewals:

Renewals are allowed if the book is not overdue and no one else has requested the book. To renew, you may either bring your student ID card and the book to the Circulation Desk or you may renew your book online.

Holds:

You may place a hold for a book that is checked out, and you will be notified as soon as it is available. Books awaiting pickup will be held for 3 days. Make a request to hold a book at either the Reference or Circulation Desk.

Inter-Campus Loan:

These loans are available for material located in any of the three college libraries. A maximum of three (3) requests may be filled at one time. The reference librarian will assist you with filling out the request forms. The books will be available at the Circulation Desk upon arrival.

Search Request: 

If a library book cannot be located, you may choose to fill out a search request at the Circulation Desk. The circulation staff will search for the item for two weeks, and then notify you about the outcome of the search.

Library Study Rooms

student working on a whiteboard

 

Study Rooms

 

All 7 study rooms can be reserved or are available on a walk-in basis. 

Light pens are available for checkout at the front circulation desk.


 

How to reserve a room:

-- Select the room you'd like by selecting the green blocks in 30-minute increments up to 2 hours daily. 

-- Submit chosen times at the bottom of the page, and fill in your Norco/RCC/MVC email, and other requested information to reserve the room.

--You'll then receive a confirmation via email. 

--Be sure to bring your current student ID and reservation info to the circulation (front) desk to check out the room and receive your key. The student who reserved the room must be present for checkout.

Note that rooms will not be held after 15 minutes after the start of the reservation


Study Room Use Rules
  • Your key should be placed on the table in the room while occupied.
  • You must be a current student with a student ID card to check out a room.
  • Room checkouts are for a maximum of 2 hours.
  • Maximum of 8 people in the room.
  • No pagers permitted in the room.
  • Food, open drinks or excessive noise will result in loss of room privileges.
  • Please no whiteboard markers.
  • Clean up all trash, leave the room like you’d like to find it!
  • You must vacate the room within the time permitted to you.
  • The student who checked out the room is responsible for rule enforcement.

 

Discipline Process: 1st strike: verbal warning; 2nd strike: 2 weeks of no study room checkout; 3rd strike: 1 semester of no study room checkout and meeting with the dean to discuss discipline.

Printers, Copiers, & Scanners

2 Printers:

Black & White:10¢/page

Color: 50¢/page

4 Copiers 

Black & White only: 10¢/page

Scanner

1 Scanner available to use at no cost

Collaboration Stations

Plug in multiple laptops and work together on assignments requiring a computer, like presentations! If you need cables to connect, ask us.

Collaboration Station Policies:
  • First come, first serve.

  • Stations are for groups of 2 or more.

  • Students not using the station must give up the station to students that would like to use it.


How to Connect a Laptop or Tablet to the Station:

To use the tables, first make sure the table is "on". You can do this by looking for the power button that is located on the media well in the center of the table. If the light is white, press the button once to activate the table and the light will become green.

You will need a VGA connection to your computer, which are available for loan from the reference desk, or you may borrow one of our laptops.

  1. Laptops are connected to the tables using PUCKS. 
  2. Open the media well and remove a puck
  3. Connect the Puck to your laptop (The Puck will glow).
  4. Share what's on your laptop by pressing on the Puck. To disconnect your device, press the off button and disconnect the Puck.

Troubleshooting

When connecting to a media:scape table with a dual monitor setup, you may need to reduce your screen resolution in order for your computer to display correctly. If you encounter issues, please follow these steps:

* In the display settings for your computer, set the resolution to 1366 X 768 or lower.

* Adjust the refresh rate to 60hz

Library Handout

Library handout