Taking Back Language - English 1A - Morford - Subject Guides at Norco College

Database Tips:

Less is more! Keep the searches down to fewer words.
Use a variety of words or phrases to describe what you're looking for, and don't be afraid to do multiple searches.
Find a few articles that work, and look for new words/phrases to describe what you're looking for (and write them down for later reference!!), and search again using those new phrases or words.
Watch out for the number of results in your searches, it’s important! Less is more -- try to get less than 60 results per search so you can look over your results over quickly. Note that the first page of results may not be the best picks for your topic, so look them all over!

If you need more help, you can chat with a Librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, email us, or make an appointment for a one on one consultation online or face to face in the library. You can also check out our Searching for Articles & Using Databases Guide below:

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource contains 3 million quotations, meanings, pronunciations, and the history of more than 600,000 words dating back over 1000 years.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains access to older eBook resources including dictionaries and encyclopedias.

National Newspapers Expanded (US Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
Access local and regional newspapers including Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and more.
Newsbank - Access World News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications from around the world.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines and more, about a wide variety of subjects. This is a great place to start when looking for scholarly articles.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present in hundreds of journals and periodicals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides the most robust, quality research articles in areas related to communication and mass media.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database provides information about current events, economics, environmental issues, news and commentary, political science, and other issues via academic journals, images, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, primary sources documents, statistics, videos, viewpoints articles, and websites.

Email Me

Subjects: Communication Studies

Finding Primary Sources
by Susan Seifried Last Updated Sep 20, 2024 24 views this year
MLA Style Guide
by Susan Seifried Last Updated Apr 10, 2025 2919 views this year
Norco College Library 24/7
by Susan Seifried Last Updated Apr 10, 2025 2669 views this year
Research Guides
by Susan Seifried Last Updated Jul 16, 2024 309 views this year