Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can look for eBooks in the databases below. Many titles can be downloaded to a reader, and most are easily searchable. If you need any help, ask us.
eBook Collection (Complete) This link opens in a new window
This resource contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Gale This link opens in a new window
This database contains access to older eBook resources including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Search with these books by using a search within the box in either the upper right-hand corner or left-hand column after you open the book.
Shakespeare for Students by Shakespeare for Students is a 3-vol. set of essential criticism to the playwright's most-popularly-studied plays and poetry in secondary schools and undergraduate curricula. The second edition contains updated entries and 4 brand new entries. You'll find a diverse blend of criticism along with plot summaries and character profiles that help further decode these dramatic masterpieces for students. Each detailed, illustrated entry provides An introduction that provides an overview of the play or poem A plot summary An annotated character list A discussion of the plays principal themes Understandable essays on the plays construction (setting, dialogue, imagery) Historical and cultural context sections that illuminate the play's role in inter-curricular studies
Publication Date: 2007
William Shakespeare by William Shakespeare's comedies - including ""A Midsummer Night's Dream"", ""As You Like It"", ""Twelfth Night"", and ""The Merchant of Venice"" - are funny, allusive, difficult, profound, and unforgettable, and have served as templates for other comedic works and their authors throughout the centuries. This invaluable new study guide contains a selection of the finest contemporary criticism of these classic plays.
Publication Date: 2009
Databases and Artcles
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Author biographies, character studies, critical analyses, and plot summaries
Gale This link opens in a new window
Thousands of encyclopedias and other references. Includes primary sources, including speeches, and historical documents. Search for a specific Play or search for Shakespeare, or historical events.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines and more. For more help with using Academic Search complete, check out the help guide near the bottom of this page.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find articles relating to Shakespeare and his plays for more help using JSTOR, see our JSTOR Help guide below.
- Less is more! Keep the searches down to fewer words.
- Use a variety of words or phrases to describe what you're looking for, and don't be afraid to do multiple searches.
- Find a few articles that work, and look for new words/phrases to describe what you're looking for (and write them down for later reference!!), and search again using those new phrases or words.
- Watch out for the number of results in your searches, it’s important! Less is more -- try to get less than 60 results per search so you can look over your results over quickly. Note that the first page of results may not be the best picks for your topic, so look them all over!
If you need more help, you can chat with a Librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, email us, or make an appointment for a one on one consultation online or face to face in the library. You can also check out our Searching for Articles & Using Databases Guide below:
View a Play & Links
The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
A non-profit corporation affiliated with the University of Victoria, the Internet Shakespeare Editions provides published works for the student, scholar, actor, and general reader.
Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
The original. View streaming performances, learn about the theatre.