Subject Guides: Celebrating Hispanic Heritage: Articles

Library Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present in hundreds of journals and periodicals.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Lists journal article citations on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S. from 1970 to present.
Hispanic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S. and ends in 1980.
NewsBank National Hispanic Heritage Month 9/15-10/15 This link opens in a new window
In honor of National Hispanic Heritage Month, NewsBank has provided a wealth of articles featuring Hispanic culture and important issues, events, leaders and personalities.
Social Justice Suite This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to articles from the following collections: Civil Rights & Social Justice, Gun Regulation & Legislation in America, LGBTQ+ Rights, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, and Open Society Justice Initiative.

Statistics & Data

National Center for Education Statistics - Hispanic-Serving Institutions Enrollment/Degrees
Fall 2019 Digest data on enrollment and degrees conferred in Hispanic-serving institutions, by institution level and control, percentage Hispanic, degree level, and other characteristics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Hispanics in the United States
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics collects and publishes statistics on employment, earnings, consumer spending, time use, and workplace injuries by race and ethnicity. This Spotlight on Statistics explores trends in those data for the Hispanic or Latino U.S. population.
United States Census Bureau: National Hispanic Heritage Month
Key statistics, trade data, and news from the U.S. Census Bureau.
United States Census Bureau: Facts for Features: Hispanic Heritage Month, 2023
Key facts available thanks to the public’s participation in U.S. Census Bureau surveys.
FastFacts: Health of Hispanic or Latino Population
Statistics on the health of the Hispanic or Latino population provided by the CDC/National Center for Health Statistics.

Open Web Resources

PEW Hispanic Center
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Its mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation.
National Archives Catalog
Resources from the National Archives and Records Administration related to National Hispanic Heritage Month.
National Archives at Riverside: Historical Research
The National Archives at Riverside has approximately 80,000 cubic feet of archival holdings dating from about 1850 to 2012. In addition to textual records, there are architectural drawings, maps, and photographs. These holdings were created or received by the Federal courts and over 50 Federal agencies in Arizona, southern California, and Clark County, Nevada.
National Park Service Hispanic Heritage Month
During this month and throughout the year, the National Park Service, and its partners, share history, heritage, and accomplishments of Hispanic and Latino Americans of past and present.
U.S. Department of Education: National Hispanic Heritage Month Resources
Library of Congress: National Hispanic Heritage Month
Discover documents, exhibits, films, blog posts and more from a variety of sources including the National Archives and Presidential Libraries that highlight Hispanic culture.
Legal Resources Guide
Law Library of Congress Research Guide that provides the legislative history, proclamations, and laws related to Hispanic Heritage Month.
Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor
From the Library of Congress, legal opinions, writings, and confirmation documents of Justice Sotomayor, the first woman of color, the first Hispanic American, and first Latina appointed to the United States Supreme Court.