Image by Brenda Ramirez
Do you want to see if the library has a copy of your course textbook? The library has a collection of course textbooks available for students to check out called Norco College Reserves. If you know the title of your textbook, type it into the OneSearch Catalog search field. If you only know a few words in the title, type them in the search field and select Norco Course Reserves from the types of searches in the dropdown menu. If you don't know the title at all, you can always check the bookstore for the title of your class textbook, then do a search for the title in the catalog. If you get stuck, be sure to contact the librarian for help.
Follow the links below for additional information on our textbook collection.
Note: We don't have copies of all course textbooks since it's up to professors to add their course texts to our collection.
Here are a few examples of printed books from our collection on the subject of Careers. You can find more books by searching our OneSearch Library Catalog. Follow the link to learn about Books - Using the Library Catalog & Finding Books and eBooks. If you have questions or need help, please ask a librarian. We're happy to help!
Click the Next button in the bottom, right corner of this page to learn about the other types of books we have.
What Color Is Your Parachute? 2022 by
With timeless advice, up-to-the-minute insights, and more than ten million copies sold over fifty years, the world's most popular and best-selling career guideisfully revised and expanded for 2022. "One of the first job-hunting books on the market. Itisstill arguably the best. And itisindisputably the most popular."-Fast Company In today's challenging job market, as recent grads face a shifting economic landscape and seek work that pays and inspires, as workers are laid off mid-career, and as people search for an inspiring work-life change, the time-tested advice of WhatColorIsYour Parachute? isneeded more than ever. Thisnew edition has been fully revised for 2022 by Vanderbilt University Career Center director Katharine Brooks, EdD, with modern advice on the job-hunt strategies that are working today, such as building an online resume, making the most of social media tools, and acing virtual interviews. Building on the wisdom of original author Richard N. Bolles, thisedition updates the famed Flower Exercise (which walks job seekers through the seven ways of thinking about themselves) and demystifies the entire job-search process, from writing resumes to interviewing and networking. With the unique and authoritative guidance of What ColorIsYourParachute?, job-hunters and career changers will have all the tools to discover-and land-their dream job.
College Majors and Careers by
College Majors and Careers, Sixth Edition offers straightforward advice for high school and college students exploring their career options. Providing invaluable guidance on figuring out what to do with an English major or selecting a field of study, this practical guide covers more than 60 college majors linked to 350 different career paths. Each college major article includes Occupations, High School Subjects, Majors, Leisure-Time Activities, Personal Skills, Resources, and Values and Personal Attributes. These sections help students identify their strengths and skills, as well as the activities, education, and training they can pursue to help them succeed in their field of study and their career. This new edition includes new questions in the 'Career-Related Questions and Answers' section, now reorganized into subcategories for easier browsing. All the major sections have been updated and revised, and a new 'Fact Box' feature cites key statistical information, such as the number of grads per year or average starting salaries for jobs with a specific major. An invaluable new section helps parents, professionals, and students learn how to best use the book. Majors covered include: Accounting; Biology; Business administration; Criminal justice; Computer science; English; History; Law; Nursing and related services; Physics; and, Political science.
Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2019-2029 by
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is the premier, nationally recognized source for career information. Especially designed to provide valuable up-to-date information, the Handbook is great for all individuals making decisions about their future including students about to graduate from high school or college, recent graduates, individuals returning to the workforce after an absence, or anyone looking for a career change. It has been used by millions since the 1940s. The completely updated 2019-2029 OOH reflects employment projections for the next decade. It includes information on the fastest-growing occupations, number of new jobs, and a summary of the highest-paying occupations. This Handbook contains numerous occupations profiles and includes information on: -Duties required by the occupation -Work Environment -Education and training needed -Median pay -Important qualities for the job -Licenses, certification, and registrations needed -Contact information to learn more about the occupation -Job outlook Special features include: -Assumptions and methods used in preparing employment projections -A comprehensive appendix summarizing the occupations -Data for occupations not covered in detail -Employment projections -Glossary of terms used throughout the book -Occupational information network coverage; and a detailed index
Career Renegade by
There’s a revolution brewing across the nation--a movement that’s changing lives and revealing little known paths to passion and prosperity. It’s about building a great living around what you love to do most. Once you’ve been touched by it, you’ll never be the same. This book is your way in, your admission ticket to the world of the career renegade. Jonathan Fields, mega-firm lawyer turned successful lifestyle entrepreneur, blogger and writer shows you how to turn your passion–whether it’s cooking or copy-writing, teaching or playing video games–into a better payday and a richly satisfying life. * Discover the 7 career renegade paths to prosperity * Tap technology to turn a seemingly moneyless passion into a goldmine * Rapidly test and tune your idea for free, from the comfort of your couch * Establish yourself as an authority in a new field with little or no investment * Cultivate the mission-driven, action-oriented career renegade mindset * Rally others to your cause, and convince them you’re not nuts Join the movement now…and take back your livelihood and life!
Career Wisdom for College Students by
Career Wisdom for College Students is a career advice book for those who need it most - college students facing monumental decisions about their future but who may not have all the information they need. Offering insights readers won't get in class, on the Internet, or from their parents, expert author Peter Vogt guides college students through the process of career preparation. While many books exist to aid the first-time jobs seeker or the recent college graduate, few offer help during the formative time when a major is chosen, an initial career path is charted, and internship and work experience opportunities abound. Filling this niche, this practical book consists of more than 60 advice articles separated into four major sections: ""Take A Look Around - A Real Look Around,"" ""Be Careful What You Think You Know,"" ""Build Your Skills and Experience Through Hands-on Activities,"" and ""Land the Job You Really Want."" An epilogue offers advice on getting the most out of the campus career counselor, and an appendix suggests helpful resources for further research or career exploration. Chapters include: What Are You Good At? Ask Someone Else! You Can Make a Career Out of Almost Anything; Career Decision-Making Traps to Avoid; Money, Status, and Power Aren't the Only Forms of Pay; Experience Isn't Optional; It's Essential; Don't Take Your Technology Skills for Granted; Introverts Can Network Too; and ""Out-research"" Your Competitors, Win the Job.
Resumes, Cover Letters, Networking, and Interviewing by
Maximize your degree and land the job you want with R#65533;SUM#65533;S, COVER LETTERS, NETWORKING, AND INTERVIEWING. Build the resume that best suits your career goals using today's business technologies, including electronic resume formatting. You'll also learn a simple approach to the entire employment process through coverage of the interview process, cover letters, networking, and job applications.
Now What, Grad? by
Many soon-to-be graduates are worried about their future. They stress about whether they'll find a job, if it will be fulfilling, whether they will earn enough to pay off their student loans, and whether they will fail and disappoint their families. Young people need to learn many things that colleges don't teach, including how to behave professionally, how to collaborate, how to be life-long learners, and how to be resourceful, resilient, and ethical. This book will teach students the things they need to succeed in the real world, such as how to organize a job search, how to ace job interviews, how to manage time effectively, how to manage and reduce stress, how to be an effective leader, how to run a meeting well, how to survive a bad performance review, how to become a powerful speaker, how to network, and many other skills that are the keys to success and fulfillment. New topics in this 2nd edition include the habits of successful people; eliminating bad habits; dealing with criticism; email etiquette; making a good first impression; the importance of gratitude; how to listen; job hunting mistakes; managing conflict; how to overcome obstacles; the importance of professionalism, punctuality, and thank you letters; creating a powerful online presence; how to crowdfund; necessary life skills; and sample cover letters.
Community College Success by
COMMUNITY COLLEGE SUCCESS gives historically under-represented students the strategic and motivational tools they need to be their own advocates and achieve their education and their dreams.
10 Things Employers Want You to Learn in College, Revised by
A handy, straightforward guide that teaches students how to acquire marketable job skills and real-world know-how before they graduate--revised and updated for today's economic and academic landscapes. Award-winning college professor and adviser Bill Coplin lays down the essential skills students need to survive and succeed in today's job market, based on his extensive interviews with employers, recruiters, HR specialists, and employed college grads. Going beyond test scores and GPAs, Coplin teaches students how to maximize their college experience by focusing on ten crucial skill groups: Work Ethic, Physical Performance, Speaking, Writing, Teamwork, Influencing People, Research, Number Crunching, Critical Thinking, and Problem Solving. 10 Things Employers Want You to Learn in College gives students the tools they need to prepare during their undergraduate years to impress potential employers, land a higher-paying job, and start on the road to career security and satisfaction.
Working in Your Major by
This guidebook contains what every college graduate needs to know to find a good job in their major, and it provides sound advice on establishing a professional identity, surviving the critical first year on the job, and ensuring marketability in the future. Working in Your Major: How to Find a Job When You Graduate tackles a daunting problem faced by many new grads--successfully finding a job in their area of study after graduation. The book begins by exploring the options available to college graduates and then details effective methods for finding the right job openings; promoting themselves in the job market; acing interviews, both in person and over the phone; and succeeding on the job in their career field. The author highlights the critical factors in every step of the job-hunting process, including searching for openings in your major, using social media, communicating college experience on a resume, understanding what employers are seeking, preparing for employment testing, choosing the right job offer, and thriving in your profession. It provides specific information for job seekers with specific areas of study, enabling new grads to successfully navigate the hiring culture unique to their college major, be it in a technical field or the fine arts.