Online Historical Newspapers : Western States

• Daily Sitka Sentinel (1940-2010)
• Sitka Sentinel (2008-2008)
Sitka is located in southern Alaska.

• Southeast Alaskas Island News, Thorne Bay (2010-2012)

Weekly newspaper written by and for Alaskan Natives. Some gaps in coverage.

Supplements Chronicling America by providing access to dates not yet available there.

Access to digitized newspapers from Casa Grande city, which is located between Phoenix and Tucson. Originally a primarily rural and agricultural town, it is now a growing suburb.

Searchable collection of roughly 50 regional Arizona newspapers.

Student newspaper of Glendale Community College just outside Phoenix; originally called El Tiempo Pasando, and then renamed The College Voice. Each volume available as a PDF; download process is slow.

Only sporadic issues for the decades prior to the 1970s.

"Little Cowpuncher was the name of a mimeographed school newspaper, written and illustrated by Anglo and Mexican-American ranch children ... at five different rural schools in Southern Arizona where Eulalia Bourne was the teacher."

Bulk 1900-1908 and 1920-1970. Prescott is a town in the mountains about 90 miles north of Phoenix.

• Ajo Copper News, Ajo (2009-2012)
• Arizona Range News, Willcox (2009-2012)
• The Camp Verde Journal, Camp Verde (2009-2012)
• Copper Basin News, Kearny (2009-2012)
• Cottonwood Journal Extra, Cottonwood (2009-2012)
• San Manuel Miner, San Manuel (2009-2012)
• San Pedro Valley News-Sun, Benson (2009-2012)
• Sedona Red Rock News, Sedona (2009-2012)
• The Superior Sun, Keamy (2009-2012)

466 issues

Amador County newspaper.

Includes Amador Ledger, California Star, Californian, Daily Alta California, Imperial Valley Press, Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910), Pacific Rural Press, Placer Times, Sacramento Daily Union, Sacramento Transcript, San Francisco Call (1890-1913), Sausalito News, more.

African-American newspaper published in Los Angeles. Scattered issues.

Student newspaper of Cal. State Northridge. A very small sampling of other newspapers from the San Fernando Valley is also included.

The Amador Ledger, San Francisco Call, Los Angeles Herald, Imperial Valley Press, and more. Scattered runs.

Chinese language newspaper published in San Francisco.

Various newspapers and publications from the city of Covina in Los Angeles County. Coverage is spotty after 1967.

An archive of the campus newspaper from East Los Angeles College in California.

"El Clamor Publico was the first Spanish-language newspaper in California after the American occupation. The initially moderate paper evolved into an activist tabloid and espoused strong political views generally in support of the Mexicanos. It was distributed as far north as San Francisco."

Nevada county newspaper; eventually became simply The Union.

Lodi is a city located between Stockton and Sacramento in California's Central Valley.

The Los Angeles Examiner Collection consists of approximately 1.4 million prints and negatives from the Los Angeles Examiner newspaper. It was a daily newspaper, published in the afternoon on weekdays (Herald-Express) and in the morning on weekends (Examiner). The afternoon and morning papers merged in 1962 (Herald Examiner).

Bilingual Spanish-English newspaper

Student newspaper of Lowell High School in San Francisco. A few issues are missing.

San Francisco's leading morning newspaper until 1913.

• Beverly Hills Weekly, Beverly Hills (1999-2000, 2009-2012)
• The Catalina Islander, Avalon (2009-2012)
• Chester Progressive, Chester (1946-50, 1961-63, 1965, 2009-2012)
• Cloverdale Reveille, Cloverdale (1980, 1982, 1991, 1997, 2009-2012)
• Feather River Bulletin, Quincy (2009-2012)
• The Foothills Sun-Gazette, Exeter (2009-2012)
• The Gridley Herald, Gridley (2000, 2009-2012)
• Independent Coast Observer, Gualala (1969-1974, 2009-2012)
• Indian Valley Record, Greenville (1950-51, 1954-55, 1959, 2009-2012)
• The Intermountain News, Burney (2009-2012)
• The Julian News, Julian (2003-2004, 2009-2012)
• Lassen County Times, Susanville (2009-2012)
• Portola Reporter, Portola (2009-2012)
• Westwood Pine Press, Westwood (2002-2003)

Torrance Press and Torrance Herald. Torrance is located just south of Los Angeles.

Includes the Whittier Register, the Whittier Daily News, and the Whittier News Whittier is located in Los Angeles County.

The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 500,000 digitized pages, representing over 140 individual newspaper titles published in 60 Colorado cities and 40 counties.

Consists mostly of the Estes Park Trail. Estes Park is located northwest of Denver and is almost adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park.

• Haxtun-Flemming, Herald Haxtun (1988-90, 2009-2011)
• Kiowa County Press, Eads (2009-2012)
• The North Weld Herald, Eaton (1921, 1990, 1992, 2009-2012)
• The Saguache Crescent, Saguache (1925, 1931, 1937, 1939, 1943, 2009-2012)
• San Miguel Basin Forum, Nucla (1958, 1960, 1964, 1966-68, 1980, 1992, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2009-2012)
• The San Miguel Forum, Nucla (available soon)
• The Trinidad Times Independent, Trinidad (available soon)
• Wellington Tribune, Wellington (2005)

Includes the Honolulu Daily Herald, The Daily Independent, the Hawaiian Gazette, and fifteen others.

16 Hawaiian language newspapers online. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs.

• Ahailono a ka Lahui
• Hawaii Holomua
• Hawaii Holomua
• Home Rula Republalika
• Honolulu Times
• Ka Elele
• Ka Hae Hawaii
• Ka Hoku Loa
• Ka Hoku o Hawaii
• Ka Hoku o ka Pakipika
• Ka Holomua
• Ka Lahui Hawaii
• Ka Lama Hawaii
• Ka Lanakila
• Ka Lau Oliva
• Ka Lei Momi
• Ka Lei Rose o Hawaii
• Ka Leo o ka Lahui
• Ka Makaainana
• Ka Manawa
• Ka Naʻi Aupuni
• Ka Nonanona
• Ka Nupepa Elele
• Ka Nupepa Kuokoa
• Ka Nupepa Puka la Aloha Aina
• Ka Nupepa Puka la ko Hawaii Pae Aina
• Ka Oiaio
• Ke Alahou
• Ke Alakai O Hawaii
• Ke Alakai o Hawaii
• Ke Alakai o Hawaii
• Ke Alaula
• Ke Aloha Aina
• Ke Aloha Aina Oiaio
• Ke Au Hou
• Ke Au Okoa
• Ke Kiai
• Ke Kilohana o ka Malamalama
• Ke Koo o

• The Molokai Dispatch, Kaunakakai (available soon)

Over 40 Hawaiian and English language newspapers. Mixed quality of scans. Partial runs.

104 issues

Newspaper of this traditionally Mormon town.

• The Aberdeen Times, Aberdeen (1955, 1962, 1966, 1968, 1973, 1976-77, 1986, 1996, 2005, 2009-12)
• The Adams County Record, Council (1981-82, 1984-87, 2009-12)
• The Genesee News, Genesee (available soon)
• Island Park News, Island Park (2001-04, 2009-12)
• Kuna Melba News, Kuna (2008)
• Latah Eagle, Moscow (2002-04, 2009-10)
• The Long Valley Advocate, Cascade (2009-10)
• The News-Examiner, Montpelier (1955-59, 2009-12)
• The Power County Press, American Falls (1967, 1977, 1987, 1997, 2009-12)
• The Preston Citizen, Preston (2009-12)
• Weiser Signal American, Weiser (2009-12)

Northern Cheyenne Press.

61 issues

2 issues

Montana Post, Anaconda Standard, Daily Yellowstone Journal, and more.

Native American newspaper. "Published by the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Indian Reservation."

• The Big Timber Pioneer, Big Timber (1944-1945)
• Blackfoot Valley Dispatch, Lincoln (2009-2012)
• The Mountaineer, Big Sandy (1974, 1979, 2009-2012)
• Philipsburg Mail Philipsburg (1908, 1911, 1932, 1935-36, 1938-39, 2009-2012)
• Phillips County News, Malta (1999, 2000-2004)
• Roundup Record Tribune & Winnett Times, Roundup (1926-27, 1933-34, 1947-48, 1952-53, 1969-71, 2009-2012)
• Sidney Herald, Sidney (2009-2012)
• Silver State Post, Deer Lodge (2009-2012)

Includes The Big Job and the Basic Bombardier. Provides insight into the importance of magnesium production during WWII.

Daily Territorial Enterprise, Goodsprings Gazette, Henderson Home News, Reese River Reveille, Wadsworth Dispatch, White Pine News.

Housed at UNLV Special Collections and archives

• Mineral County Independent-News, Hawthorne (1939, 1944-46, 1954-55, 1965-67, 2009-2012)
• Moapa Valley Progress, Overton (available soon)
• Pahrump Mirror, Pahrump (1995-2012)

• Clovis Livestock Market News, Fort Sumner (2009-2012)
• De Baca County News, Fort Sumner (1977-81, 2009-2012)
• Hidalgo County Herald, Lordsburg (2009-2012)
• The Independent, Edgewood (2009-2012)
• Mountain Mail, Socorro (1980-1990)
• The Raton Range, Raton (available soon)

The Evening Herald (Klamath Falls), Sumpter Miner, Daily Capital Journal (Salem), many more.

Includes the Morning Oregonian, Daily Astorian, Coos Bay Times, Bend Bulletin, and over 40 other titles.

Clippings collection. According to the website, "the newspaper articles were collected and organized in the late 1930's by dedicated historians working for the Works Progress Administration."

• The Clatskanie Chief, Clatskanie (1948-49, 2000, 2009-2012)
• Coquille Valley Sentinel, Coquille (1970-73, 1999-2003, 2009-2012)
• Dayton Tribune Dayton, Oregon (1977-78, 1980)
• Hells Canyon Journal, Halfway (1985-86, 1996-98, 2009-2012)
• Heppner Gazette-Times, Heppner (1968, 1972, 1999, 2009-2012)
• Index, Forest Grove (available soon)
• McKenzie River Reflections, McKenzie Bridge (1985-87, 1989, 2001-2005, 2009-2012)
• The New Era, Sweet Home (1941, 1950, 1960, 2003-2004, 2009-2012)
• The Pendleton Record, Pendleton (1971-72, 1982-84, 2009-2012)
• The Sun, Sheridan (1953, 1963-64, 1966, 1991, 2009-2012)
• The Times, Brownsville (1975-79, 2009-2012)
• The Times-Journal, Condon (1939-40, 1951, 1966, 1974, 2003-2004, 2009-2012)

Choose "Newspapers" at the right under Collections by Format. Features 11 newspapers, including the Daily Enquirer (Jan. 1881 - Oct. 1892, with over 1,100 items), the Rigby Star Newspaper (Jan. 1906 - Dec. 1975, with over 2,200 items), the Women's Exponent (1860-1914, with over 700 items), and the 19th Century Mormon Article Newspaper Index (from various newspapers, with over 9,000 items).

Primarily supplements the Utah Digital Newspaper Project.

Over 70 newspapers (including the Deseret News) from 27 of Utah's 29 counties.

38 issues

Ellensburg is a city of about 18,000 in central Washington.

Clippings collection. According to the website, "the newspaper articles were collected and organized in the late 1930's by dedicated historians working for the Works Progress Administration. "

Port Townsend has a population of roughly 8,000 people and is on the northern coast of the Olympic Peninsula.

• Arlington Times, Marysville
• Belfair Herald, Shelton
• Boomerang! Palouse
• Cheney Free Press, Cheney
• Deer Park Tribune, Deer Park
• Dispatch-Eatonville, Eatonville
• Edmonds Beacon, Mukilteo
• Goldendale Sentinel, Goldendale
• Issaquah Press, Issaquah
• Marysville Globe, Marysville
• Mattawa Area News, Mattawa
• Mt. Adams Sun, Bingen
• Mukilteo Beacon, Mukilteo
• Newcastle News, Issaquah
• News & Standard, Coulee City
• Othello Outlook, Othello
• Quad City Herald, Brewster
• Quincy Valley Post-Register, Quincy
• Ritzville Adams County Journal, Ritzville
• Sammamish Review, Issaquah
• Shelton-Mason County Journal, Shelton
• South County Sun, Royal City
• South Grant County Washington Sun, Royal City
• Star Grand, Coulee
• Wahkiakum County Eagle, Cathlamet
• West Seattle Herald, Burien
• Woodinville Weekly

“The most comprehensive news source for Spokane and the Inland Northwest."

•Independent— November 1993 to February 1996
•Ledger— November 1996 to December 2005
•Daily— September 1967 to February 1968
•Commons— October 1995 to April 1997

From the Walla Walla Army Air Base.

Newspapers from:
• Columbian (1852-1853)
• Lynden Pioneer Press (1888-1890)
• Northern Star (1876-1879)
• Puget Sound Argus (1882-1883)
• Puget Sound Courier (1855-1856)
• Puget Sound Dispatch (1871-1880)
• Puget Sound Herald (1858-1864)
• Puget Sound Mail (1879-1884)
• Puget Sound Semi-Weekly (1866-1866)
• Puget Sound Weekly (1866-1867)
• Puget Sound Weekly Argus (1876, 1876-1882)
• Puget Sound Weekly Gazette (1867-1867)
• Seattle Gazette (1863-1864)
• Seattle Weekly Gazette (1864-1866)
• Spokane Falls Review (1883-1890)
• Spokane Times (1879-1882)
• Truth Tell (1858-1858)
• Vancouver Register (1865-1869)
• Washington Gazette (1863-1863)
• Washington Pioneer (1853-1854)
• Washington Statesman (1861-1864)
• Walla Walla Statesman (1864-1884)
• Weekly Argus (1870-1875)
• Yakima Herald (1889-1992)

• Basin Republican Rustler, Basin (2009-12)
• Greybull Standard, Greybull (2009-12)
• High Plains Sentinel, Wright (2009-12)
• The Lovell Chronicle, Lovell (2009-12)
• News Letter Journal, Newcastle (1934-35, 1945, 2009-12)
• The Sundance Times, Sundance (1955, 1990, 2000, 2002, 2009-12)
• Weston County Gazette, Upton (2009-12)

"Available through this website are all the newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922".