Subject Guides: The Harlem Renaissance: Articles & Databases

Database Tips:

Less is more! Keep the searches down to fewer words.
Use a variety of words or phrases to describe what you're looking for, and don't be afraid to do multiple searches.
Find a few articles that work, and look for new words/phrases to describe what you're looking for (and write them down for later reference!!), and search again using those new phrases or words.
Watch out for the number of results in your searches, it’s important! Less is more -- try to get less than 60 results per search so you can look over your results over quickly. Note that the first page of results may not be the best picks for your topic, so look them all over!

If you need more help, you can chat with a Librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, email us, or make an appointment for a one on one consultation online or face to face in the library. You can also check out our Searching for Articles & Using Databases Guide below:

Academic Search Complete
Access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines and more, about a wide variety of subjects. This is a great place to start when looking for scholarly articles.
America: History & Life with Full Text
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present in hundreds of journals and periodicals.
History Reference Center
Provides access to full text of world history sources. Features include historical documents, biographies, reference books, encyclopedias, photos and maps.
JSTOR
Digital library of older peer-reviewed academic journals, books, and primary sources.
MagillOnLiterature Plus
Author biographies, character studies, critical analyses, and plot summaries of the most studied literary works.

eBook Collection (Complete)
This resource contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Gale eBooks
This database contains access to older eBook resources including dictionaries and encyclopedias.