Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links to online genealogical research sites.
Genealogy organization operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Maintains a collection of records, resources, and services designed to help people learn more about their family history. It offers free access to its resources and service online and is one of the most heavily used online genealogy site .
The USGenWeb Project is a group of volunteers working together to provide Web sites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. Organization is by county and state, and provides links to state and county genealogy websites.
Family Relationship Terms
Useful Government Web Sites for Genealogists
California Digital Newspaper Collection 1846-1922
Free digitized collection of historical California newspapers contains over 50,000 issues from over a dozen different newspapers, available for both searching and browsing. The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.
Census Records -- National Archives
Census Records is a growing catalog of links to transcriptions of census, tax lists, birth, death, marriage and military records, all freely available to help with international genealogy research.
National Archives Resources for Genealogists
Lists resources at the National Archives to explore your family's ancestry. Contains thousands of genealogy-related holdings -- many of which are available online. Provides full access to the 1940 U.S. Census.
Where to Write for Vital Records
Links provided by the Centers for Disease Control for direct access to state and territory information.
Ship Passenger Lists and Records Online
Internet sources for digitized or transcribed passenger records and indexes.
The Ships List
Access to ship passenger lists and other immigration records.
The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation
Free search service provides free online charts and forms. Provides access to more than 22 million immigrants, passengers, and crew members who came through Ellis Island and the Port of New York from 1892 to 1924 through detailed passenger lists or "ship manifests" maintained by ship companies. “Search by Ship” features search by ship name, arrival year, arrival date and Port of Departure.
California Birth Index 1905-1995
Created by the Calif. Dept. of Health Services, Vital Statistics Section in Sacramento. Includes name, birth date, sex, mother's surname, and county of birth.
Death Indexes and Cemetery Record Links
California Death Index 1940-1997
A free searchable index to over 9 million California death records from familysearch.org
Find a Grave
Contains 115 million grave records.
Interment.net Cemetery Records Online
A free online library of cemetery records from thousands of cemeteries across the world.
An informative website designed to offer resources for obituaries, funerals and genealogy search.
Social Security Death Index
Free search - from FamilySearch.org) with over 91 million entries - updated regularly. Created from the Social Security Administration's Death Master File. It lists people whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration starting about 1962 (there are a few deaths listed prior to 1962).
Veterans Burial Locator
Free search for burial locations of veterans and their family members in VA National Cemeteries, state veterans cemeteries, various other military and Department of Interior cemeteries, and for veterans buried in private cemeteries when the grave is marked with a government grave marker.
Riverside County Genealogy Resources
Free Genealogy Charts and Forms
Access Genealogy Free Genealogy Charts
Free, downloadable and printable charts include:
◾Family Tree Chart
◾ Research Extract
◾Free Census Forms
◾ Correspondence Record
◾Family Group Chart
Family Tree Magazine Free Forms
Family Tree Magazine has created forms that can help you access and organize your family history information. They're available in two formats: text and portable document format (PDF). The text versions give you the basic form structure in files you can open in your word-processing software. You can print, edit or even type your information right in the file. The PDF versions are read-only files with snazzier designs—they're suitable for displaying or sharing your research with others.
Family Tree Relationship Chart
A chart that allows you to calculate official terms for family relationships.