Image taken under Creative Commons Licencing
Related LibGuides
To view the videos from our Films on Demand database, log in with your student email address. Please note that only students who are currently enrolled at Norco College can view the videos.
The following databases are suggested for searching for articles and other resources on the topics of interpersonal communication and self awareness. If you can't find what you're looking for, our reference librarians can help. Just ask!
Try using some of the keywords below to search for articles on your topic.
See our guide on Searching for Articles & Using Databases for additional help.
eBooks
To view eBooks, log in with your RCCD student email. Please note that only Norco College students who are currently enrolled in classes may access the eBooks.
Facets of Self-Consciousness by
This special issue of "Grazer Philosophische Studien "brings together a number of carefully selected and timely articles that explore the discussion of different facets of self-consciousness from multiple perspectives. The selected articles mainly focus on three topics of the current debate: (1) the relationship between conceptual and nonconceptual ways of self-representation; (2) the role of intersubjectivity for the development of self-consciousness; (3) the temporal structure of self-consciousness. A number of previously underexposed, yet important connections between different approaches are explored. The articles not only represent the state of the art in their respective areas of research and make new insights available, but also provide an overview of different methodologies: ranging from philosophy of language and mind to phenomenology and cognitive science. The volume is of interest for philosophers, cognitive scientists and researchers in related disciplines who are concerned with investigating the nature and origin of self-consciousness.
Interpersonal Communication by
Interpersonal communication has been studied in terms of both communication functions and specialized contexts. This handbook comprehensively covers the field including research on processes of social influence, the role of communication in the development, maintenance and decline of close personal relationships, nonverbal communication, cognitive approaches, communication and conflict, bargaining and negotiation, health communication, organizational socialization and supervisor-subordinate communication, social networks, and technologically-mediated interpersonal communication. Two chapters are dedicated to research methods in the field. The handbook includes chapters by widely recognized and respected scholars in the field.
The Relationship of Verbal and Nonverbal Communication by
The Contributions to the Sociology of Language series features publications dealing with sociolinguistic theory, methods, findings and applications. It addresses the study of language in society in its broadest sense, as a truly international and interdisciplinary field in which various approaches - theoretical and empirical - supplement and complement each other. The series invites the attention of scholars interested in language in society from a broad range of disciplines - anthropology, education, history, linguistics, political science, and sociology. To discuss your book idea or submit a proposal, please contact Natalie Fecher.
The Transformational Odyssey: Finding Your Path to Personal Transformation and Self-Renewal by
The Transformational Odyssey was written to help those individuals who are facing difficult life transitions, and who are attempting to successfully navigate tough life decisions and engage in deep self-discovery.
Books
The Student EQ Edge by
"The Student EQ Edge is more relevant today than any other time in the history of our world. Our opportunity to succeed in the 21st century will depend a great deal on our emotional intelligence in our transformation to lifelong learning and our leadership ability. This book is the competitive edge." --Stedman Graham, best-selling author, speaker, entrepreneur "We have been long aware that academic ability does not necessarily predict college success. This book provides a comprehensive look at emotional intelligence and the role it plays in student persistence. It takes these noncognitive aspects that we know really matter and puts them into a practical, user-friendly guide.