Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in the Library about Writing
Find a variety of information on a wide range of literature. Full access for Norco College students, Faculty, and Staff using your college email. If you need help, check out the guides to the right, or ask us for one-on-one help.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Author biographies, character studies, critical analyses, and plot summaries of the most studied literary works.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find Peer-reviewed articles on your topic. For help with JSTOR, visit our JSTOR Help Guide
eBook Collection (Complete) This link opens in a new window
Search for books, about your author, era, style, movement, piece of work or to gain some historic context for help with how to use ebooks, visit our Finding eBooks Guide
Gale This link opens in a new window
Search for your specific piece of literature, author, or genre here. Gives overviews, literary criticisms, and more.
Selected Sources on Poetry and Drama
Search these multi-volume sets found in Gale Virtual Reference Library (see above). Click on the link, and log in using your email, then search for your topic in the SEARCH WITHIN SERIES box in the upper right hand of the page. Need more help? Ask us, and we'll be glad to assist!
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays by Examines all 39 of the most influential plays by Shakespeare, with an in-depth examination of each play's historical significance, literary technique, and contemporary alignment. The plays of William Shakespeare, from tragedies such as Hamlet to comedies such as A Midsummer Night's Dream, have endured since their first productions in the late 16th and early 17th centuries. A vital part of high school and college literature curricula today, these plays continue to educate and entertain, showing students - as well as the general populace - themes of humanity that have persevered throughout the ages, such as romantic love, greed, power, revenge, forgiveness, and many more. Written by leading experts in the field of Shakespearean studies, Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays closely examines all 39 of Shakespeare's plays, as well as Shakespeare's life, style, technique, and influences. This title begins with a biography of Shakespeare and an introduction to his plays as a whole, followed by close readings of individual plays. Each essay is devoted to a single work and provides an in-depth critical analysis of the play's historical significance, literary/dramatic techniques, and meaning to a contemporary audience. An abstract, explanation of context, and lists of keywords, works cited, and recommended books for further study also enhance each essay. The second half of the book focuses on various critical readings, analyzing Shakespeare's form, technique, and syntax, as well as main themes, motifs, and related topics. Also included are other resources useful to studying Shakespeare's plays, including a guide to free online sources and more literary criticism, a bibliography, a list of contributors, and a complete index. The essays in this single volume compile the essentials for any person interested in Shakespeare, whether a student approaching his works for the first time or a habitual theatergoer about to witness a new production of one of the plays. This title is a set of essays that record the history of Shakespeare the man, the dramatist, and the poet, and analyze each work attributed to his pen. With so much comprehensive analysis of Shakespeare's life and works, Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays is a must-have resource for high school and undergraduate literature departments, as well as public libraries who wish to support their literature collections.
Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Guide to Greek Theatre and Drama by 'A new and definitive guide to the theatre of the ancient world. The Guide to Greek Theatre and Drama is a meticulously researched and accessible survey into the place and purpose of theatre in Ancient Greece. It provides a comprehensive author-by-author examination of the surviving plays of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, Aristophanes, and Menander, as well as giving an insight into how and where the plays were performed, who acted them out, and who watched them. It includes a fascinating discussion of the function of the essential characteristics of Greek drama, including verse, rhetoric, music, comedy, and chorus. Above all it offers a fascinating viewpoint onto the everyday values of the ancient Greeks; values with a continuing influence over the theatre of the present day.'
Publication Date: 2003
Drama for Students by Every bi-annual volume of DramaforStudents features coverage of 15 plays most frequently studied in literature classes. Look for: Amiri Barakas The Baptism Caryl Churchills Cloud Nine| Pearl (Michelle) Cleages |Flyin West| Terrence McNallys |Master Class| Lanford Wilsons |The Mound Builders| And more You may also be interested in For Students Online - the complete For Students Collection in eBook format. While Gale strives to replicate print content, some content may not be available due to rights restrictions.Call your Sales Rep for details.|PIM|31-MAY-18|01
Publication Date: 2002
Reference Guide to World Literature Historical in scope, the "Reference Guide to World Literature includes biographical-bibliographical entries on nearly 500 writers and approximately 550 entries focusing on significant works of world literature. Covering writers from the ancient Greeks to 20th-century authors, each author entry provides a detailed overview of the writer's life and works. Work entries cover a particular piece of world literature in detail.
Need help with your writing? Drop by the Writing Support Center.
Get help with any writing assignment for any subject, online or face to face. No appointment is necessary, and a College ID is required.
Call or visit to find out more:
Writing & Reading Center
Room 110, 1st Floor of the Library Building
Need research help? Ask us!
Plays on Video
Below are a just a few selections from our database above: