Image taken under Creative Commons Licencing
Norco College students, faculty, and staff can access materials from anywhere 24-7 using their Norco College Email.
Digital library of older peer-reviewed academic journals, books, and primary sources.
This resource contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Tip: Use the search within the publication box in the right-hand column to search in a specific source.
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature by
Covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
Reference Guide to World Literature
Historical in scope, the "Reference Guide to World Literature includes biographical-bibliographical entries on nearly 500 writers and approximately 550 entries focusing on significant works of world literature. Covering writers from the ancient Greeks to 20th-century authors, each author entry provides a detailed overview of the writer's life and works. Work entries cover a particular piece of world literature in detail.
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays by
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays, Salem Press? newest Shakespearean study guide, closely examines all 38 of Shakespeare's plays, as well as Shakespeare's life, style, technique, and influences. Each essay is devoted to a single work and provides an in-depth critical analysis of the play's historical significance, literary/dramatic techniques, and meaning to a contemporary audience.
This is a selection of literary criticism references that are essential to starting your literary research. They can all be found in the Reference section and are library use only.
You can jump-start your search by looking up your topic online in Gale Literary Index, which indexes all of Gale's publications, including most of those below. Also try searching for your author in a catalog subject search (last name first!) to find more materials.
Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory by
Introduction to literary criticism concepts - this is a good place to go if you need to better understand what you're reading. Available in Norco College Library Reference
Colonialism and Race in Luso-Hispanic Literature by 
Black Literature Criticism by
A collection of excerpted criticism on major works by 125 prominent black writers includes detailed profiles of each author and a history of critical response to his or her works.